The Republic of Consciousness Prize for Small Presses





Nature of prize and rules for submission.

The winner will be chosen based on two criteria, perfectly expressed on the Galley Beggar website as ‘hardcore literary fiction and gorgeous prose’.

Eligible publishers will have a maximum of five full-time paid people working for them.

The prize is open to UK and Irish publishers. One novel or single author collection of short stories per publisher can be submitted in the calendar year.

The shortlist will be decided by a small group of booksellers and online reviewers, and the prize is run by James Tookey.

A longlist will be announced in December 2017, & a shortlist of five books will be announced in February 2018, with the winners to be announced at an event in March/April. We are still nailing these details down, and will keep all entrants updated.

See The Bookseller announcing the prize here.

Prize: all shortlisted books will receive some financial reward, with an overall prize fund being shared between the winner and rest of the shortlist.

For a more detailed explanation why this prize has been created, written by the award’s founder Neil Griffiths, click here.

To submit an entry, or for further information, please contact: James Tookey (jwtookey[at]gmail[dot]com)

Submission Deadline: 31st October 2017
Longlist Announcement: December 2017
Shortlist Announcement: February 2018
Winner Announcement: March 2018



We are indebted to our sponsors and partners.